Are Livvy’s intentions to return good ones? #ComingHomeToHopeStreet #Review @nholten40 @writermels


Step across the cobblestones, pull back the curtains and peek behind the doors in the second instalment of The Hope Street Series. Catch up with old friends and fall in love with new ones in a story of friendship, second chances and new beginnings.

Livvy has no choice but to return to Hope Street, the childhood home she left over twenty years ago. Along with her sixteen-year-old daughter, Pip, she turns up on the doorstep, hoping for forgiveness from her sister.

Hannah thought she’d never see Livvy again. She’s overwhelmed with emotion but locks away her real feelings. How could Livvy stay away without any contact? And why has she come back now?

It isn’t long before the charm of the market town of Somerley begins to work its magic. Hannah is opening a book shop in the square, adjoining The Coffee Stop, and Livvy’s offer to help out brings the sisters closer together.

But when someone from Livvy’s past arrives unannounced too, he threatens everything she’s built up since her return. Can Livvy convince her sister, and her new friends, that her intentions to return were good ones? Or will her dreams of settling down and being happy again become nothing but a closed book?

If you love an uplifting story, then Coming Home to Hope Streetis the perfect feel-good read to curl up with. Ideal for fans of Hannah Ellis, Holly Martin and Emily Harvale.


Set in #Somerley with a focus on ‘Hope Street’ this perfect-escape-of-a-read had me hooked! The main themes were family, friendships, new beginnings but mixed in was pride, perseverence, misunderstandings, secrets, guilt, grief, forgiveness, betrayal and guess what, readers! There was even some crime! 😉

A dual timeline gives the reader good insight to explain how the main story and characters come to the point they are at (I won’t rehash the blurb or give any spoilers but I liked the mix of past and present). Told from multiple POV’s, you get all sides of the story and how each character’s perspective and actions intertwine. What I love about this author is that she injects realism so well, you feel like you are reading about friends. The characters are relatable and believable – you feel everything they do and at times want to shake some sense into some of them. You can take the Marcie out of Mel but you can’t take the Mel out of Marcie! The writing has a great sense of place – I want to live on Hope Street! In case it isn’t obvious yet – I adored this book!

Character wise, there was a real sense of family and friendships – new and old. The relationship between the sisters was incredibly real – it wasn’t perfect but you knew or hoped things would work out in the end. Livvy and Hannah hadn’t seen each other for years and there was a mystery around why Livvy returned, especially as she had stayed away when Hannah needed her most. Despite being a feel good story, it had some sad moments and a few twists too …another thing I love about this author! She keeps you on your toes!

So… would I recommend this book? Ab-so-friggin-lutely! Coming Home To Hope Street is a fun, feel-good read that pulls the reader in and delivers all the feels! Highly recommended! I can’t wait for the next in this series!

One Reply to “Are Livvy’s intentions to return good ones? #ComingHomeToHopeStreet #Review @nholten40 @writermels”