Do we ever really know the people closest to us? #SewingTheShadowsTogether #Review #Repost @nholten40 @bloodhoundbook @LifeBookish @alisonbailliex

A couple of years ago, I read this fabulous book and took part in a blog tour. I have updated the new book cover and graphics as it has now been republished by Bloodhound Books.

About the Author: 

ALISON BAILLIE was brought up in Ilkley, Yorkshire by Scottish parents. She studied English at the University of St Andrews, before teaching English in Edinburgh secondary schools and EFL in Finland and Switzerland. Now she spends her time reading, writing, travelling, spending time with her grandchildren and attending crime writing festivals.

signing books  Alison Taylor-Baillie

About the book (Old and new cover):

image

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Do we ever really know the people closest to us?

More than thirty years after thirteen-year-old Shona McIver was raped and murdered in Portobello, the seaside suburb of Edinburgh, the crime still casts a shadow over the lives of her brother Tom and her best friend Sarah.

When modern DNA evidence reveals that the wrong man was convicted of the crime, the case is reopened. So who did kill Shona?

Soon Sarah and Tom find themselves caught up in the search for Shona’s murderer, and everyone is a suspect.

The foundations of Sarah’s perfect family life begin to crumble as she realises that nothing is as it appears.

Dark secrets from the past are about to emerge, but can they uncover the truth before the killer strikes again?

Alison Baillie is the author of the acclaimed psychological mystery thriller, A Fractured Winter.  Sewing The Shadows Together is a suspenseful thriller which will appeal to fans of authors like Theresa Driscoll, LJ Ross and Jane Holland.

I was given a copy of this book by the author in exchange for an honest review. My original review was posted Sept 5th 2015 but I have updated and reposted since it has been republished and damn, it is fantastic read!

First and foremost, I have to say that this book took my breath away! The writing style and plot had me hooked from the first few pages. The twists, characters and mystery had me gripped to the very last page where we learn the truth behind the 30 year mystery!

What I liked about this book was how the author, through her writing, seemed to  grab my very soul. I could feel the passion that went into writing this story as I turned each page. The characters were beautifully “crafted” — we learn so much about each one of them without it being over done. For instance, after only a few pages I knew that I did not like Rory and felt sympathy for his wife Sarah. This stayed with me right to the very end. Tom intrigued me and I enjoyed how the author drip-fed the reader bits of his background throughout the book.  The reader steps into the pages and becomes a part of story — that was my experience anyway!

The emotion that poured from the pages also had my head spinning at times! I went from one extreme to the other–grief, sadness, anger, frustration, relief, happiness…you name it, I felt it when reading…I even laughed at myself sometimes thinking “what the hell? Pull it together Noelle…it is just a book!”. But that is just it. It was MORE than a book…it was a journey of pure story-telling at its finest! I now want to visit Portobello and travel in the footsteps of these characters!

There was nothing in this book that I did not like…it is not often that words escape me, but when I finished this book, I closed it and was literally in awe…I am sure I even grinned a bit when I was reflecting back and thought “Wow! What a great book!”

Finally, I loved the original cover of this book (see above) but have to say, the new cover is equally as stunning! I found it haunting, eery, intriguing and mesmerising –everything I felt, I found within the book! My review does not do this book justice so I urge, beg and even plead that you grab yourselves a copy and experience the magic of this debut novel by Alison Baillie. You will not regret it!

2 Replies to “Do we ever really know the people closest to us? #SewingTheShadowsTogether #Review #Repost @nholten40 @bloodhoundbook @LifeBookish @alisonbailliex”

  1. Pingback: Day 4 – THE Book Club 20/20 *All Time Favourite* Crime/Police Procedural List – CrimeBookJunkie

  2. Pingback: CrimeBookJunkie Top Reads 2015 – CrimeBookJunkie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Checkbox GDPR is required

*

I agree

*