Matt Hilton: Author Guest Post

In the run up to publication for Matt Hilton’s latest in the Joe Hunter series- Marked For Death – I am thrilled to welcome Matt to my blog today!  My review for this SUPERB book will be posted 17/7/17, but I can tell you, it is one book you will want to add to your TBR!

Let’s first find out a little bit about Matt Hilton and Marked For Death!

About The Author

Matt Hilton is the author of the high-octane Joe Hunter thriller series, and the Tess Grey and Po Villere thrillers. His first book, ‘Dead Men’s Dust’, was shortlisted for the International Thriller Writers’ Debut Book of 2009 Award, and was a Sunday Times bestseller, also being named as a ‘thriller of the year 2009’ by The Daily Telegraph. Dead Men’s Dust was also a top ten Kindle bestseller in 2013 and 2016.
Matt has published novels in the supernatural/horror genre, namely ‘Preternatural’, ‘Dominion’, ‘Darkest Hour’ and ‘The Shadows Call’.
His next Joe Hunter novel, Marked For Death, will be published 17th July 2017, and his next Tess and Po novel, Worst Fear, on 29th September 2017.

www.matthiltonbooks.com Website
https://twitter.com/MHiltonauthor @MHiltonauthor  Twitter
www.facebook.com/MattHiltonAuthor Facebook
www.facebook.com/MattHiltonBooks official author page at Facebook

About The Book

Joe Hunter has been Marked for Death in his most explosive outing to date

It should be a routine job. Joe Hunter and his associates are hired to provide security for an elite event in Miami. Wear a tux, stay professional, job done.
But things go wrong.
Hunter is drawn into what appears to be a domestic altercation. When he crosses the mysterious Mikhail however, he soon finds something altogether more sinister…
Before long this chance encounter has serious repercussions for Hunter and his friends. Good people are being killed. On the run, in the line of fire, the clock is ticking.
From the bars of Miami Beach to car chases and superyacht grenade battles, bestseller Matt Hilton dials up the intensity in this rip-roaring, set-piece filled thriller perfect for fans of Lee Child, David Baldacci and Stephen Leather.

Available for pre-order now: http://amzn.eu/8jiDk7w

 

Out on a limb (playing Tarzan) by Matt Hilton
I’ve recently been reflecting on my reasons for pursuing a writing career and have come to the conclusion that it wasn’t because I didn’t want to get stuck in a ‘proper’ job. I’ve nothing against hard work – in fact these days I probably labour for more hours than I ever did in any job I’ve done before. Most of those were physically more demanding – I’ve done everything from fruit and potato picking, painting agricultural buildings, tree felling, litter picking, catching thieves, wrestling drunks and a whole lot more, and of course, prior to becoming a full-time author, was a police constable and endured all that it entails. I think the simple answer is that I must have inherited a story-telling gene – if such a thing exists. I hail from a long Scottish line on my father’s side, wanderers all, who had rich and diverse tales of hardship, travails, and humour to tell. My earliest memories are of sitting around with my bunch of brothers being regaled by stories that were as embellished as they were entertaining. I used to love listening to tales of the past, shocked and in awe, but also laughing hysterically at the oft-times self-deprecating punch line. To this day I can’t help narrating similar stories whenever I’m in company, and probably will until the day I die.
​As a child I had a fertile imagination. A lot of games were centred on replaying some of the stories I’d listened to, imaging myself as the protagonist, but more often I’d invent stories of my own to act out. I grew up playing cowboys and Indians, japs and commandos, Tarzan of the jungle, and many other physical and exciting games (I even taught myself to yodel like Johnny Weissmuller and swing from tree to tree). Very early on I began jotting down stories and was encouraged to do more by my teachers. I was also an avid drawer, and model maker. I was enthralled by stop-motion animation movies – think King Kong, Jason and the Argonauts, Seventh Voyage of Sinbad etc.) and aspired to make my own. Coming from a poor, hard-working family on a council estate, I didn’t have access to things like movie cameras and such, but it didn’t stop me from dreaming, or from plotting story boards on the back of remnant rolls of woodchip wallpaper. I suppose my finest moment as a child – and aspiring author – was when I was about twelve years old and my English teacher read out one of my tales to the class – it was a particularly violent western based on Clint Eastwood’s man with no name movie character – and it was greeted by ooh’s and aah’s of admiration from my school mates. It was the first time that I thought I might be on to something…and I haven’t stopped writing and telling stories since. From those early days though until I finally became a published author in 2009, many years went by: my thirty-odd years in between are a tale in itself. I’m now about to see my 16th traditionally published book, number 12 in my Joe Hunter thriller series, MARKED FOR DEATH, hitting the shelves, but am not about to slow down anytime soon. Oh, and for the record I can still yodel like Tarzan to this day.

 

Thanks so much, Matt!  Love that!  And you do realise I will be asking to hear that Tarzan yodel when we next meet! 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*